Kenji’s Art Sundays

December 17, 2006

Every Sunday, Beats Entropy will showcase a painting of mine and I will describe the ideas, processes and technique I used to realize it.

Please feel free to comment; anything is welcome including criticisms.

www.kenjitoyooka.com

Today’s Piece:

Title: The Artist as Medusa
Medium: Acrylic on Canvas
Size: 40″ x 30″

This is a piece that I did “live” at an event- basically, I painted it for an audience, amidst a party. It involved a lot of drinking and bumping into people dancing to music. That’s not the whole truth however, since half of it was actually painted the night before in preparation. This split process sort of dictated what I would paint, and in what style. Since I knew that it would be hard to do precise linework at the party, I painted all the background faces the night before, and left the less-rigid pointillism for the “live” part.

The painting is an allegorical self-portrait.  The artist, represented by the woman (medusa), is vain, complicated and bursting of emotions, all expressed through her posture and drawn style.  The audience is frozen, receded and monochromatic.  This contrast between the two demonstrates the alienation that the artist feels from the world, yet the bright colours and the sky in the top-right corner betrays the artist’s inner feelings of love and serenity.

<< First < Previous

Copyright 2006 Kenji Toyooka

5 Responses to “Kenji’s Art Sundays”

  1. baredfeetandteeth Says:

    Tis beautiful. She looks so

  2. baredfeetandteeth Says:

    dammit! multitasking is not my friend *sigh* she LOOKS so…detached. Totally in her own space. I like it.

    I also think the way it was made, in front of an audience, is very cool.

  3. plubius Says:

    Wow. I love the whole color scheme and stuff; particularly the whole heads int he back.

  4. Anonymous Says:

    This is my favorite of the paintings posted, so I thought I’d comment on it. The colour work is nice, how the planes are widely separated by saturation, and the move from cool to warm mirrors internal to external experience. The green is a good choice for a lowered tone on the left side, more than an obvius answer of burnt orange – the contrast with the red keeps the planes further apart. A critique? The figure becomes shapeless and flat below her collar. It takes away the feeling of her as a living creature. My favorite section is the grey and blue on the right side, from her body to the clouds. I really want to reach in and touch her hair.

    Hmm. I said all of that, but what I really wanted to talk about is the concept. We are all of us more alive inside than is observable to those outside of our experience. It’s an interesting trick to bring out what lies inside.

    I can identify with feeling disassociated from outside experience. Although, if I were to paint something similar I would have to paint the world in saturation, and myself in a field of desaturation with a core of white.

    Just before seeing this, I was reading a post of haiku’s. Something came to mind from your painting.

    like a death
    this cloak of shadow
    makes me still

  5. Dawn Says:

    haha. I’m still getting the hang of the site. That last post was not indended as anonymous.


Leave a Reply

  • Isaac and the Leopard
  • Blog Stats

  • December 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Recent Posts

  • Top Posts

  • Archives

  • Meta

