My Diary: Why I can’t go to Bridgehead anymore

April 8, 2008

 In my mental makeup decency is layered last, and predicated on sufficient rest. The AJ at large is kind, courteous, gentlemanly…but this is a sleep fuelled façade, held in place by social necessity, and daily habit. On this particular day I had not slept for a fortnight [1], and my better nature was frayed near through. In an effort to jump start my nervous system I went to bridgehead[2] to get some coffee. The visit went as such

 7:15 am

  I enter store. A large line of hippies, trendy government jerks, and bike couriers are ahead of me. The dreadlocked ( lame Caucasian kind) fellow in front of me has a burlap purse. I asked him “where can I buy a wicker purse like that”. He told me it was a hemp, and a satchel. I informed him it was only a satchel if it was filled with C-4, otherwise it was a purse…and hemp was only good for making inedible biscuits, and paper thin excuses to grow pot. He turned up his Ipod.

     7:19 am

 Though it is odd to admit it: While standing in line I discover I’m a little turned on by the dirty spoon bin. Something about strangers grabbing a hold them, using them up, then throwing them into a filthy pile together…where they lie exposed and entangled. I resolve to use stir sticks to avoid giving cheap voyeurs any sort of thrill.

 

7:20

These office chuds in front of me were discussing names for the band they wanted to form: I suggest “The Christ tighteners“…because that’s awesome. They said they would think about it. I suspected that they will not actually think about it. This angers me. I then suggest the name “Our drummer works in the finance department…and he’s the coolest one of us.”  The drummer laughs…the others simmer with milk warm anger.

 

7:21

  The attractive, blunt shoed, cashier chick is arguing quietly with her barista girlfriend. The drummer behind me suggests gays are temperamentally unsuited to customers service positions. I demand that he respect her, as lesbians are natures toothbrush. The incredulous cashier overhears and is laughing despite her anger. To her credit: my coffee arrives promptly and untampered.

 

7:23

  I use three spoons and splash a little coffee into the bin. The Lesbarsita see me and knows my secret shame. 

 ***

[1] I didn’t go twenty days without sleep…I was just up all night building a fort.

 [2] This sort of hippy fair trade coffee place. It’s next to my work…I prefer Tim Hortons.

12 Responses to “My Diary: Why I can’t go to Bridgehead anymore”

  1. Ellen Says:

    “I didn’t go twenty days without sleep…I was just up all night building a fort.”

    This somehow tempers some of the random, if amusing, hostility infused in this piece. The idea of you curled up in couch fort, muttering obscenities, humanizing you.

  2. Dr. Knowitall Says:

    I like the word Lesbarsita.

    And also, a fortnight is fourteen days and nights, not twenty…


  3. ” a fortnight is fourteen days and nights, not twenty…”

    I buy them in bulk, so I get a few extra days for free.

  4. baredfeetandteeth Says:

    I’m torn between savage amusement at the awkwardness you forced upon the bandgeeks and indignation at the phrase “Lesbians are nature’s toothbrush” …or maybe I’m just disturbed by the image.

    I wonder though, are these things you honestly say and their actual fallout, or is it the subliteral fantasy narration you imagine as you stand in line glaring bitterly at those who irritate you and holding your peace?

    I usually imagine saying forthright and clever things to irritating strangers and end up just chucking soggy fries at them as they pass me in the foodcourt. It’s an odd combination of cowardess and courage, mine.


  5. ” I wonder though, are these things you honestly say and their actual fallout, or is it the subliteral fantasy narration you imagine as you stand in line glaring ”

    To be honest: I’ve lost the ability to distinguish between the two.

  6. Rodney Says:

    Oh he says it, and that is the fallout.

    And Timmies rocks.

  7. Ginny Says:

    “lesbians are natures toothbrush”.

    Thank christ you’re back.

  8. Monkey Says:

    I have mornings like this as well, but I’m fairly certain most of it goes on in my head.

    I liked this piece. Though I don’t understand why you wouldn’t want to go to Bridgehead again … as it sounded like a fairly interesting way to start a morning.

  9. Jive Says:

    “I informed him it was only a satchel if it was filled with C-4”

    You’re my kind of geek even though you seriously underestimate the utility of hemp.

  10. engtech Says:

    As much as I enjoy this piece, Bridgehead is the only coffee chain that has decent food.

    Although, the Timmies’ chili in a bread bowl is pretty damned good.

  11. seekr Says:

    I miss Bridgehead… hug a hippie for me.

  12. Stiletto Says:

    I’m sorry. I had to stop at “trendy government jerks.”

    Isn’t that an oxymoron?


Leave a Reply

  • Isaac and the Leopard
  • Blog Stats

  • April 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Recent Posts

  • Top Posts

  • Archives

  • Meta

