Infamous Danish Cartoon:

February 21, 2008

hah.jpg

 

“People who jump up and down suggesting that printing this cartoon is a matter of free speech, are right. But free speech doesn’t mean free from consequences.”

 The intent of a free society is not that we can act without retribution, but that that retribution will be of kind. Laws are upheld by force, ideas are contested with ideas. If I say something wrong, show me my error. If I say something hurtful and misinformed, denounce me as an ill thought bully. If I attack your religion as thuggish and brutal, show me it’s beauty and worth.

 As long as it is not actively inciting hate against someone, I have the right say whatever ever I want, free from intimidation, threats, and blackmail. The wounded party has commensurate rights. If a group cannot respond on the plane of ideas, and must resort to harassment and intimidation for redressment, then they have failed as a civilized member of society and need to be driven from our shores.

Read the rest of this entry »

Passive Depressive #127

February 21, 2008

Read the rest of this entry »

  • Isaac and the Leopard
  • Blog Stats

  • February 2008
    M T W T F S S
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    2526272829  
  • Recent Posts

  • Top Posts

  • Archives

  • Meta